This year I am coaching new graduate colleagues and helping them to improve their professional practice. I am finding it rewarding and challenging as I try to steer the coaching conversation so that the coachee can critically look back and reflect on their own teaching practise. It strikes me that the coaching relationship is very much about trust. The coachees are being brave and enthusiastic in their quest to learn and become better practitioners and we all know how tough it is to feel like you are being judged by someone you look up to. I have worked hard to be positive, non judgemental and supportive of my coachees. So far, we are all enjoying the experience.

I am working primarily off a coaching model I learnt at uLearn09 in Christchurch, NZ with three levels of coaching questions. I’m finding that its a different mentaility having to suspend judgement and subtly steer the pathway forward, instead helping the coachee to see it for themselves. Sometimes, I have found that I have had to question qround and around the issue until they dig deeply enough to see the crux of the problem for themselves.  I have also found that different interpretations or understanding of concepts or terminology can hinder improvement and create confusion. My solution for my most recent coaching dilemma is model a lesson for the coachee myself and strategically demonstrate the behaviours I feel need addressing. This way, the subsequent coaching conversation can be steered to focus on the differences between the two lessons and hopefully will highlight reasons for my “effective practise.” Now I just need to deliver a fabulous example. 🙂

